What’s in my iTunes: Jagged Little Pill: Acoustic (Alanis Morissette)

I’m not sure this is the most appropriate album to listen to at work (read: in a church), but no one’s come to yell at me yet.

I was first introduced to Alanis Morissette in my sophomore Honors English class when we did a literary analysis of the lyrics to Perfect, and was later re-introduced through Alice Ripley’s Daily Practice cover of You Oughta Know. I just about screamed when I found this album in my mom’s things – if there’s one thing I’m a huge sucker for, it’s acoustic versions of basically anything.

In the liner notes, Morissette describes her songs as “sacred yes un-precious diary-excerpts-as-songs.” These are my favorite kinds of songs. I wish her other albums had spoken the way Jagged Little Pill – in all its forms – did and continues to.

Leave a Reply

